French Filigree, test knit and more….

I’ve pulled out another slow WIP. This time it was French Filigree.
It’s nearly 3/4 done.

27Mars(click all images to enlarge)

The reason I didn’t get more done of this is that I had to stop to do a test knit.
I’ve been test knitted a new design by Agnes Kutas called Gingerbread. I’ll let you know when it is available.
IMG_0434Before blocking

IMG_0440 IMG_0439

Once it’s dry I will ‘borrow’ my niece for some photos 😉

I’ve started another knitting project. This one will take over a year to finish.
Why so long? It will take this long since it is a mystery afghan KAL with each motif (based on the Sherlock Holmes short stories) coming out monthly. I’m using a slightly furry wool/acrylic mix and the pattern isn’t quite as defined as some works I’ve seen, but it is there and I’m sure blocking will define it a little more. I can say it will be WARM once done.

IMG_0446I have also been very spoilt over the last few days.

I hit the big 40 on Monday and I have to say I’m humbled at the generous gifts I have received.

Tim gifted me a stunning sterling silver bangle with an engraved message and a necklace/earring set.
He said the bangle isn’t ‘finished’ yet as there is something else yet to be done to it but I’ll have to wait a couple of weeks when we have our 20th wedding anniversary. I can’t wait to find out what it is.

I got the usual fabulous family gifts, including  the surprise of my parents turning up at Petrina’s, where we spent the day. It took me a bit to click that they shouldn’t have actually been there.

One of the gifts will be my next knitting new start. They are Bofur’s gloves from The Hobbit. This is the official wool and pattern from the company that made the shawls/gloves etc from the LOTR and Hobbit movies.

And we can thank Petrina for this gifty.

Bofur-Gloves-KitI also received some knitting patterns from Jeannie-Maree, Sonya, and Nicola.

Small dogif it moves, shoot it

charlotte St. Mitts  morganeve's mitts

Clicking the above images will take you to the pattern page on Ravelry

I also received a couple of parcels from Angela Perret. The first contained a pair of cat snips, chocolate truffles and a lovely handstitched card. The second contained a HAED handmade needle threader. Sorry I haven’t taken a photo of the first lot of gifts, but I do have the threader to share.

needle threaderAnd finally I received a few HAED charts. I will have to open up a slot for a few new starts, I think.

Thank you Christy, Jo, Louanne and Nance

Clicking these images will take you to the chart on the HAED site

the edge Above And Beyond
Dark Hope The Fantastic Voyage

I think I’ve remembered everything and everyone. If I have forgotten you please forgive me I’m not as young as I used to be

Thank you not only to those who gave me a gift, or wished me a happy birthday, but to you for reading my blog.

 

7 thoughts on “French Filigree, test knit and more….

  1. Glad you had such a lovely day and you got some lovely gifts!

    Well done on the progress on the French Filigree, I was just thinking the other day that I hadn’t seen you stitch much on that recently! The knitting, as always, is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

