Stab, stab, stab…..

I mentioned in my last post that I was going to try to finish at least another one page off, but I ended up stabbing the tip of my pointy finger with the needle and just kept stabbing and stabbing that same hole. So I had to take things very tentatively.

(click to enlarge)

It all stems from the fact that I’m using 22ct Hardanger fabric 2 strands full cross  and when stitched the fabric and back become very stiff and with the constant force required in those thicker parts my skin just gave way.

I should be fine to work on Turnadot as it’s on 25ct and nowhere near as stiff, but knowing me I will end up with a few more painful moments.

I would have liked to pull Alex out again after T to try and finish her, but I think I will let my finger have a rest. I won’t leave her away for very long though as I can see and end to her and I really want to start that piece for Tim.

6 thoughts on “Stab, stab, stab…..

  1. Ouch.
    Fabric sizes and choices are important. I’ve learned that there will be no more 1 over 1 on anything smaller than 28-ct for me. I just can’t see it well enough and the whole thing becomes a stress. That’s part of the reason I moved from my beautiful Ink Circles pieces I really want to finish to my (also beautiful) Dragonfly Quaker. The former is on 32 and the latter on 28. I can still see 28 with my glasses on, so I can watch TV and stitch. With the 32 I have to take my glasses off and I can’t do anything else but concentrate hard. That’s too much for me at the moment.

  2. I’m with you on those larger counts, 28ct is the largest I will go to. I don’t think I’ve ever done anything larger and with my eyes like they are I don’t think I want too.

  3. It’s a bit annoying how fabric of the same count can vary so much. My 22ct hardanger, working 2 strands feels quite loose and although you’d think that would be a good thing it means that the stitches sometimes move out of a true line.
    I love 28 count jobelen but sometimes my eyes need a rest.

  4. Thank you Thea, she is very close to completion. I am surprised at how long she has taken so far. It’s a fairly small chart but the amount of colour changes is amazing. In some places there are upwards of 8 yellows in her hair strands. To have her completed is one of my goals for the year and I will do it.

Leave a Reply

